Three wooden boards=$58

Who can be happy about spending $58 on three wooden boards? Woodworkers, that’s who. I just came back from our local WoodCraft store with three boards in hand. I had a gift card left over from Christmas. It’s a cold and windy day today. I needed a comfort purchase. That’s similar to comfort food, but tastes differently. I’ve been planning this trip since Christmas. I’m working on an idea, have been for a few months. I’m making mental sketches and actual paper ones of wooden briefcase designs. I’ve got a few different styles in mind. I’ll probably make each of them eventually. To begin with, I am settling on one that is a little less involved, both in terms of design and in terms of wood requirements. Using nice (read exotic) wood can be pricey. I just pulled myself away from some very attractive $200 boards at the wood store. I’m going to go with a design that uses finger joinery finished with a roundover bit in the router, and simple rod through holes as a hinge joint. I’ll be doing some hopefully final drawings tonight, using the specs of the actual boards I just purchased to figure the dimensions, and to factor the weight, which will constrain/guide the design. I’ll post pictures when I finish the case. Be forewarned, it could be a while. There are three people here, ages 5, 4, and 3 years, who say I have more important things to do that working in the garage (my woodshop).

2 Comments

  1. Barbi said,

    April 28, 2010 at 8:26 am

    My husband builds guitars, so I totally understand how happy someone can be over buying a few pieces of wood! Good luck with your project!

  2. April 28, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Thanks Barbi. My wife feels the same way as I do, but for her it is new fabrics for sewing projects.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

